Damian Lillard Wins Magic Johnson Award for Second Time in his Career

Damian Lillard is well known for what he does on the court. However, he’s also pretty great for what he does off the court as well.

The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced Lillard the 2019-20 Magic Johnson award winner on Wednesday morning.

Lillard also won the award in 2016-17. He joins Shane Battier as the only repeat winners.

Brandon Roy is the only other Trail Blazer to win the award (2008-09).

The PBWA vote among their over 200 members to decide a winner.

The award is given to “the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public,” according to the PBWA.

On the court, Portland’s star averaged over 37 points and 9 assists per game in the seeding games last year. Off the floor, the five-time All-Star continues to display respect and willingness to speak with the local and national media.

The other finalists included LeBron James, Khris Middleton, Donovan Mitchell and Kemba Walker.

Follow 750 The Game on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

More about: