NBA Commissioner Adam Silver announced a joint effort between the NBA and FIBA to create the Basketball Africa League. Play will begin in January 2020.

The 12-team league will likely include Angola, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa and Tunisia, according to Tim Reynolds of the Associated Press.

Qualification tournaments to be played this year will determine league teams. No nation will have more than two teams.

Silver also announced that former President Barack Obama will be involved.

The Basketball Africa League will be the NBA’s first professional league outside of North America.


More about:


More News