WNBA Announces Plan for 2020 Season

If all things go well, we’ll get to see Sabrina Ionescu, Satou Sabally and Ruthy Hebard play WNBA games in 2020.

The league announced in a statement that they’re finalizing a partnership to make IMG Academy in Florida the “Official Home of the 2020 WNBA season” with a 22-game season and the traditional playoff format to follow.

Starting in early July, all 12 teams would head to the IMG Academy, which will “serve as a single site for training camp, games and housing,” while the regular season would start in late July.

The WNBA acknowledged the COVID-19 situation, saying “Due to the fluid situation resulting from the pandemic, the league and players will continue to review the appropriate health and safety protocols and make necessary changes to the plan prior to arriving on site for the start of training camp and throughout the season.”

The league “will build on its commitment to social justice and will support players in launching a bold social justice platform as a call to action to drive impactful, measurable and meaningful change.  The WNBA 2020 season will include a devoted platform led by the players that will aim to support and strengthen both the league and teams’ reach and impact on social justice matters.”

As expected, games will take place without fans. Also, regular season matchups and times for the WNBA 2020 Tip-Off will be announced at a later date.

Follow 750 The Game on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

More about: