Oregon’s OT Penei Sewell has been named the offensive recipient of the 40th annual Morris Trophy, presented to the most outstanding offensive and defensive lineman in the Pac-12.

Sewell is the seventh Duck to win the Morris Trophy, which is voted on by players in the Pac-12. The league’s starting defensive linemen vote for the offensive winner and the starting offensive linemen vote for the defensive winner.

The dominance of Sewell at left tackle protecting QB Justin Herbert, has been on full display all season. Over 466 pass-blocking snaps this season, Sewell has allowed just seven pressures and zero sacks. In eight games this season, Sewell was able to prevent opposing defenders from having any pressures, hurries or hits on Herbert.

Justin Herbert was in New York today to receive his award, the Campbell Trophy — honoring the best football scholar-athlete in the nation for combined academic success, athletic performance, and exemplary leadership. The award is known by many as the “Academic Heisman”.

Brady Breeze, possibly the hero of the Pac-12 Championship game, was named to the Pac-12 All-Conference First Team.

On defense, Kayvon Thibodeaux was named the freshman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. Thibodeaux has been the team leader in sacks and tackles for loss for the Ducks this season.

Finally, Oregon’s offensive line is among four finalists for the Joe Moore Award, honoring the top offensive line in the country. Ohio St, LSU, and Alabama are the other finalists for the award.


Follow 750 The Game on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

More about: