Rueck Named Candidate for Naismith Coach of the Year


CORVALLIS – Oregon State head women’s basketball coach Scott Rueck has been selected as one of 15 Late Season Candidates for the 2019 Werner Ladder Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday.

Rueck is one of four Pac-12 coaches featured among the 15 candidates. The Beavers’ head coach is a two-time Naismith Coach of the Year finalist and a two-time AP National Coach of the Year runner-up. He is a four-time Pac-12 Coach of the Year, and is one of five coaches in conference history to win the honor multiple times.

In his ninth season with the program, Rueck recently tallied his 200th win at Oregon State. He currently holds a record of 202-94 with the Beavers, making him the second winningest coach in team history. Rueck has led the Beaver to six-straight 20-win seasons and five-straight NCAA Tournament appearances. Oregon State is one of nine teams in the nation to make the Sweet 16 each of the last three seasons, a run that includes a Final Four in 2016 and an Elite Eight last season.

This year’s Oregon State team has already matched the seventh-highest win total in program history with a record of 23-5. The Beavers are 13-3 in Pac-12 play, and have clinched a top-three finish in the conference this season. Oregon State is currently ranked No. 9 in the AP Poll and No. 8 in the WBCA Coaches Poll.

OSU will head to Arizona this weekend for matchups with Arizona State and Arizona. 


More about: