Oregon State men’s basketball head coach Wayne Tinkle received a one-year contract extension that takes him through the 2022-23 season, Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Scott Barnes announced Tuesday.

“Coach Tinkle is an excellent ambassador for Oregon State University and is a strong leader of our student-athletes,” Barnes said. “Our program has made tangible strides under Coach Tinkle and we look forward to more on and off the court successes under his leadership.”

This past season Tinkle led Oregon State to its first winning record in conference play (10-8) and best finish in league play (tie for fourth) since 1989-90. The Beavers swept Oregon and USC, and had its first conference road sweep (at Colorado, at Utah) since 2008-09.

“It’s great to have the continued support from our administration,” Tinkle said. “I want to thank President Ed Ray and Scott Barnes for their trust, confidence and appreciation for what we’ve done with our program. We feel very good about what we’ve done and are hungry to strive for even more in the coming seasons. My family and I are very privileged to be a part of the Oregon State family.”

Tinkle has recorded three winning seasons in his first five years (the 2017-18 team went 16-16); Oregon State had two winning seasons in the previous 24 years.

During his five years in Corvallis, 18 men’s basketball student-athletes have received Pac-12 All-Academic honors; 24 student-athletes received all-academic recognition in the previous 27 years.

Oregon State is returning two-time All-Pac-12 First Team selection Tres Tinkle, Pac-12 All-Defensive Team member Kylor Kelley and Ethan Thompson, who has started all 63 games in his first two years.

In returning production in the Pac-12, the Beavers are second in scoring (70.1%), rebounding (75.4%), assists (76.1%), steals (71.4%), and blocks (86.6%).

Tinkle signed a six-year contract when he was hired on May 19, 2014 after eight successful seasons at the University of Montana. He was awarded a two-year extension on June 7, 2016 after leading the Beavers to their first trip to the NCAA Tournament in 26 years.