After paving the way for 239 rushing yards in the Pac-12 Championship game win over Utah, Oregon’s offensive line has been named one of four finalists for the Joe Moore Award, which honors the top offensive line unit.

The selection of the 2019 Joe Moore Award winner will be made public after a surprise visit to the winning university’s campus in late December.

Led by seniors Shane Lemieux and Calvin Throckmorton, who have made 51 consecutive starts, seven different members of Oregon’s offensive line have a combined 218 starts, which leads the nation. Out of the seven that have started games over their career, five are seniors.

Oregon leads the Pac-12 with 1,368 rushing yards in the second half this season and added to that total in the 37-15 win over the Utes last Friday night with 154 yards on the ground over the final 30 minutes. Behind 208 yards and three TDs by sophomore running back CJ Verdell, Oregon rushed for 239 yards against the nation’s top-ranked rush defense.

The Ducks’ offensive line had three different members combine to win the Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week award eight times during the regular season while Washington State was the only other team to win the award more than once. Sophomore left tackle Penei Sewell earned the award four times while Lemieux and Throckmorton won it twice.

Oregon ranks 15th nationally in scoring offense (35.9) thanks to being one of 11 FBS programs with 30 TD passes and 20 rushing TDs. The Ducks have had a 3,000-yard passer and 1,000-yard rusher in the same season each of the last two seasons, as Verdell eclipsed the 1,000-yard mark during his MVP performance against Utah.

Five different Oregon offensive linemen combined to be named to the Pro Football Focus Pac-12 Team of the Week 24 times during the regular season. Sewell landed on the PFF Pac-12 team nine times, while Lemieux was honored five times and senior Dallas Warmack four times to lead the way. According to PFF, Oregon’s offensive line has allowed just five sacks this season.


More News