LaMichael James Headlines Oregon Ducks Hall of Fame Class of 2023


Fresh off his selection to the College Football Hall of Fame earlier this year, former Oregon Ducks great LaMichael James is now headed to the Hall of Fame for the University of Oregon.

James headlines a six-member Class of 2023 that will be inducted the weekend of Oregon’s home football game against Washington State on Oct. 21st.

James was the first ever Oregon Ducks football player to be a unanimous First-Team All-American and became the only Duck to win the Doak Walker Award in 2010 as the nation’s best running back. He was the program’s first consecutive All-American in 2010-11 and was a Heisman Trophy finalist in 2010.

He was a member of Oregon’s 2010 squad that went to the BCS National Championship game against Auburn. That team was inducted into the Oregon Ducks Hall of Fame in 2022.

James will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Dec. 5th in Las Vegas, Nev. He will join Mel Renfro, Norm Van Brocklin, Bobby Moore (Ahmad Rashad), John Beckett, and Johnny Kitzmiller as other Ducks players in the hall, as well as former Ducks coaches Len Casanova and Mike Bellotti.

His 5,082 career rushing yards in three seasons in Eugene rank second in program history. Only Royce Freeman, who played four seasons, amassed more career rushing yards than James, with 5,621 yards. James also ranks second in program history in total yards (5,869) and rushing touchdowns (53).

Seven times James rushed for 200 yards or more in a single game, something no other Duck has matched.

He is one of just three players in conference history to rush for at least 1,700 yards in a single season in consecutive years.

James currently owns and operates Killer Burger franchises in Beaverton, Lake Oswego and Eugene.

Joining James in the Oregon athletics hall of fame class of 2023 are Alaina Bergsma (Volleyball), English Gardner (Track and Field), Jordan Hasay (Track and Field), Jessica Moore (Softball), and Bruce Mortenson (Track and Field).