Ionescu Wins Wade Trophy for 2nd Time

Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu just continues to add lines to her resume. She won the Wade Trophy for a second consecutive season as announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association on Thursday.

The WBCA also revealed their list of 10 All-Americans. Ionescu’s Duck teammates, Ruthy Hebard and Satou Sabally, joined her on the list of the WBCA’s All-Americans.

The Wade Trophy is given annually to the top women’s basketball player among sophomores, juniors and seniors.

Last year, Ionescu was the only junior on the list of 10 All-Americans from the WBCA. She’s earned the WBCA All-American honor three times in her career.

Also, Ionescu is just the sixth player to win the Wade Trophy multiple times. She joins Old Dominion’s Nancy Lieberman (won in 1978-79 and 1979-80), LSU’s Seimone Augustus (won in 2004-05 and 2005-06), Baylor’s Brittney Griner (won in 2011-12 and 2012-13) and UConn’s Breanna Stewart (won in 2014-15 and 2015-16) as two-time winners. Maya Moore won the award three times while at UConn between 2008 and 2011.

Ionescu still has two more awards she can add to the trophy case. She is a finalist for the Wooden Award and Naismith Award.

Follow 750 The Game on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

More about: