Kelly Graves checked off a major goal off the checklist for 2019 on Sunday following No.6 Oregon’s 66-59 win at No.21 Arizona State.  The win gave Oregon the outright Pac-12 regular season conference championship for a second year in a row, the first such accomplishment in program history.

Scott Rueck’s No.9 Oregon State Beavers had a challenging final weekend of regular season play, losing at ASU 66-54 before pulling out a double-OT win at Arizona 65-60.

Both teams were able to earn a bye in the opening round of Pac-12 Tournament play this week in Vegas, and the seedings are set.  Oregon (27-3, 16-2 Pac-12) is the 1-seed and Oregon State (24-6, 14-4 Pac-12) is the 3-seed.

The full seedings are:

  1. Oregon Ducks
  2. Stanford Cardinal
  3. Oregon State Beavers
  4. UCLA Bruins
  5. Arizona State Sun Devils
  6. Utah Utes
  7. California Golden Bears
  8. Arizona Wildcats
  9. USC Trojans
  10. Washington State Cougars
  11. Washington Huskies
  12. Colorado Buffaloes

The Ducks will play their first game of the tournament on Friday, March 8th at 2pm against the winner of 8-seed Arizona and 9-seed USC (Thurs., 2pm).  The Beavs will play their first game of the tournament on Friday, March 8th at 8:30pm against the winner of 6-seed Utah and 11-seed Washington (Thurs., 8:30pm).

Should both programs win in the quarterfinals and semifinals, the Pac-12 Tournament championship game would feature a third Ducks-Beavs showdown of the season.  Both teams won their respective home games in the Civil War series which came in a four-day span in early February.



More about: