The National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2019 Hall of Fame class on Monday, and former Oregon State Beavers head coach Dennis Erickson is part of it.

Erickson, an Everett, Washington native, coached the Beavers from 1999-2002, including leading the Beavs to a share of the Pac-10 Championship in 2000 and a Fiesta Bowl win over Notre Dame.  In his first season Erickson led the Beavers to their first winning season in 29 years, going 7-5 in 1999.

Erickson’s hall of fame induction hinges on his two national championships that he won as head coach of the Miami Hurricanes in 1989 and 1991.

Troy Polamalu, a native of Winston, Ore. and a graduate of Douglas High School, is also part of the class from his days starring at USC.

The class also includes the Goodyear Blimp, which enters the hall as the first non-player and non-coach as an honorary member.

The class is headlined by former Wisconsin offensive lineman Joe Thomas and Texas quarterback Vince Young.

From Oregon State Athletics regarding Dennis Erickson’s induction:

Dennis Erickson Selected to College Football Hall of Fame

CORVALLIS – Former Oregon State head football coach Dennis Erickson has been selected to be inducted into the National College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday by the National Football Foundation. Erickson joins former head coach Tommy Prothro (1955-64) and former standout players Terry Baker (1960-62) and Bill Enyart (1966-68) with immediate OSU ties in the Hall of Fame.

Erickson joined the Oregon State program in January of 1999 and promptly led the Beavers to their first winning season (7-5) in nearly three decades. The following season he led OSU to a final No. 4 national ranking, a co-Pac-10 Conference Title and a rout of Notre Dame in the Fiesta Bowl.

“This is a well-deserving honor for Coach Erickson,” OSU head football coach Jonathan Smith said. “The opportunity to play for him helped shape my career aspirations to be a leader of young men. On behalf of the Oregon State program, Beaver Nation and the players who were privileged with the opportunity to play for Coach Erickson, a heartfelt congratulations to him and his family.

Erickson led OSU to three bowl games, including its first since 1965, before leaving to become the head coach of the San Francisco 49ers. His head coaching stints at the collegiate and professional level includes Idaho, Wyoming, Washington State, Arizona State, Miami, the Seattle Seahawks and currently as the head coach for the Salt Lake Stallions for the inaugural season of the Alliance of American Football.

Overall, Erickson won two national championships, led his teams to 12 bowl games and a share of six NCAA conference titles. He is also the only person in Pac-12 history to be named the league’s Coach of the Year at three different institutions.

The 62nd induction ceremony will be held Dec. 10 in New York City.


More about:


More News